It has to start somewhere

 

Welcome to the Being Ginger Blog!

This film has been a source of passion, frustration, and excitement for me for exactly two years (this Friday will mark the two year anniversary of the film’s birth), and this blog will hopefully be a way for me to keep you all up to speed on how things are going. (And I might include a few stories about my other misadventures.)

I’m still a bit leery about keeping a running total of my personal and professional challenges and triumphs for two reasons: first, I’m not actually that into self-promotion, and second, I only have so much energy. But I think it’ll be a good idea in the long run.

So here’s the first bombshell: I’m not finished with the film yet. I thought I was there, I really did, but last week I had a consultation with a fantastic editor I know and respect (who cut a documentary nominated for an Oscar), and she strongly suggested that I recut the opening. To sum up her assessment: right now the film is good, it could be great.

I made the changes she suggested, but now everything that follows the new opening sequence needs to be reorganised.

I realize that when I launched the Kickstarter campaign in August of 2012, I said I’d have the film finished by now. I’m extremely grateful for everyone who has donated time and money to help make Being Ginger a success. And I truly appreciate everyone’s patience.

With this blog, my goal is to keep you all in the loop about the film’s progress. You’ve all been amazing with your encouragement and willingness to share the idea of the film with your friends, and I’m excited to enter the final chapter!

-scott
22 January 2013

Keep me informed.

Leave a Reply

