Redheads Of The World Unite

Image

The first redhead gathering that I heard about was The Redhead Days in The Netherlands.  And I’ll be honest, I wasn’t really sure what to make of it.  I didn’t exactly love my hair, and I didn’t see the appeal of hanging out with hundreds of other redheads.

Then I went.

And now I can’t wait for my next redhead gathering.

It seems like there must be something going on because it feels like I hear about a new one every week.  I get emails from other redheads wanting to know if there is a gathering of some kind closer to them, so I decided to list all of the ones that I am aware of.  If I’m missing any, please let me know.

Rossitalia – May 26th in Milan, Italy

Gingerpalooza – June 1st, in Austin, Texas (my own hometown, but I won’t be able to make it this year.)  Their kickoff event is a pub crawl, with the proceeds going to fight bullying and skin cancer, two issues most of us are concerned about.

Redhead Day UK (I will be there, and I’m going to try to show a scene or two from the film.) - June 29th in Manchester, England

Dublin Irish Festival – August 2nd, 3rd, & 4th in Dublin, Ohio

Redhead Event – August 17th in Portland, Oregon

Irish Redhead Convention – August 23rd, 24th, & 25th in Cork, Ireland (I will make it for this one.)  They also work to raise money to benefit the Irish Cancer Society

The Redhead Days – August 30th, 31st, and September 1st in Breda, The Netherlands.  This is the granddaddy of them all, proud holders of the world record for most redheads in one place at one time.  I was there last year, and I promise you nothing will keep me from going back for more.

Redhead Day Brazil – September 7th and 8th in Rio de Janeiro

And there is an event in Mexico City on September 9th

I would be remiss if I forgot to also recognize these two from earlier in the year,

Rock It Like A Redhead – March 16th, 2013 in New York City

Rassemblement de Vrais Roux – May 4th, 2013 in Montréal, Canada

Like I said, if you know of a big redhead gathering not listed here, please let me know.

beinggingerthefilm@gmail.com

One thought on “Redheads Of The World Unite

  1. Jay

    I always hated my red hair, and never thought red hair could look good at all (I was teased a lot with it as a kid). But then last year I somehow heard about redhead days in Breda, and ended up just buying plane ticket and booking a hotel for one night, and just see what happens. It’s just a one hour flight for me, so no big expense, and I thought if I don’t like it, I can just walk around and take a look at the city.

    It really changed my view. There were so many beautiful people, with beautiful colors of red, and to see people actually being proud of their red hair (instead of embarrassed as I have always been) was something special.

    The children were adorable. I always thought I would never want to end up with a red haired girl, because I wouldn’t want the extra risk of my children having red hair, since I don’t want them to grow up dealing with that. But there were so many cute and beautiful redheaded children there, that I just started thinking how much I would love having a kid like that. I still worry for those children though, and hope times have changed, and that they won’t be teased like some of us was.

    Right when I arrived there, and started walking down those walking streets in Breda, I felt a bit uncomfortable, feeling that everybody who noticed my red hair, would know I was there for redhead days, and would view me as some weirdo being exhibited, and maybe they would comment about me to each other. I know it’s weird, most of them probably just saw a random dude passing by, and that’s it, but that’s how my mind works. All my life my red hair has only brought me negative attention, so I generally try to avoid any kind of attention to the fact that I have red hair, at all.

    It even felt a bit awkward when passing other redheads. I thought about, if they notice I have red hair, if they think about it, if they are even there for the event. Are we supposed to say hi? Nod? Soon enough though, and after passing by the square with the information booths, where there were a lot of redheads, it started feeling normal.

    My only complaint now is, that now I’m finally starting to appreciate my red hair, it has faded a bit, and is definitely not as red as when I was young (plus it’s getting thinner). What’s up with that? :D

    Anyway, the event was an important point in my life. I wish I was more outgoing, and could have gotten to know a bunch of people there, but even so, it was great, and maybe next time. I also have been noticing more and more of these kind of events, and am thinking about going again.

    (Really looking forward to the movie)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

